::cisco black belt::

July 3, 2008

Looking ahead

Filed under: misc, self-study — ccxx4488 @ 9:33 am

I was planning on putting my study notes up here, but I had seconds thoughts. Most of my notes are condensed versions of the books I use, I’m sure it’d be a copyright issue.

Still studying, hope to wrap up my final 3rd read thru the ICND2 ECG this week and finish my notes. The last 2 weeks of review will be practice labs, subnetting, exam sims, and a lot of reading, and putting together a super brief version of notes to read on the way to the test center.

I’ve had a lot of ideas for content to put on this blog, I just dont’t have the time right now, but after my test and before I move back to Washington State, I plan to upload some decent content.

Back to the test. I was looking over the exam blueprint (ICND2). You could easily put it into the following categories: VLANs, STP, VLSM, IPv6, OSPF, EIGRP, NAT, ACL, Frame Relay, and PPP. I’m going to work on EIGRP today and finish part III of ICND2 book. That still leaves me with NAT, Frame Relay, IPv6, and PPP as main areas of review.

Before I start my CCNP, I will have my study methods/plan in check. What I mean is, I’m constantly tweaking my review processes, trying to find the best method. But for the CCNP, I will decide on a study process before I begin, and just stick with it, til the end. I’m estimating to spend 4.5 – 6 months per exam for the CCNP.

On the subject of jobs:

I leave Germany and return to the states, I don’t have a job lined up. I see jobs out there I could do, hopefully something falls into place. Jobs and the CCNA, as I’ve looked deeper into the skills Employers are looking for and what you learn on the CCNA, theres a gap, and it can only be filled with the CCNP. I didn’t want to start on the CCNP upon completion of the CCNA, because I wanted to gain CCNA level experience. I’ve given a lot of thought to that perspective lately, important points people have made stand out. Two of them in particular: “Keep learning” and “even without CCNP experience, having a CCNP, will get the attention of someone looking at your resume”. I think that’s solid advice, I was considering expanding my skillset into CCNA Voice or Security but as much as I’m interested in those paths, its a digression of my ultimate goal of CCIE R/S–so I plan on remaining focused on my long-term goal.

In the meanwhile, I need another coffee, and I gotta get back to studying.

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds like a good plan!

    I was also tempted for a bit to consider the other CCNA tracks. But truthfully, if I allow myself to be distracted by everything shiny and new, I’ll never get done with anything. So I plan to stick to my plans of finishing up CCNP and landing a good networking job. From there I can allow myself to venture out a little with the ultimate goal of getting a CCIE someday.

    Comment by Aragoen Celtdra — July 8, 2008 @ 7:22 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

