::cisco black belt::

July 16, 2008

Time for a rant

Filed under: CCNA, ICND2, misc, rant, self-study — ccxx4488 @ 11:11 am

OT, I booked my test, I take it on Monday.

< rant>

I’m really pissed off with the quality of the Cisco Press study materials. I found some errata and submitted  some, ignored some for the CCENT/ICND1 OECG. So, as I approach my test, where I still need to brush up on a few things like frame-relay, OSPF, EIGRP and IPv6, I digress from my studies in complete frustration.

The ICND2 book is already “jacked-up” with errata on the frame relay chapters, but I keep finding more:

Chapter 13, question 5, according to the answer page, then answer b should read 102 not 101 at the end.

Chapter 14, Step 5 page 488 and step 6b page 489, the syntax is wrong: frame-relay map ip ip-address dlci broadcast is what it should read, not …dlci ip-address

Chapter 14 page 500. Then entire first paragraph needs a re-write, try using a frame-relay map statement on a point-to-point subinterface and see what the IOS tells ya, can’t do it, sure it will work for a multipoint subinterface but the book doesn’t tell you that, the entire paragraph is jacked and needs re-written.

I wonder how others feel as they pursue their CCNP or CCIE, are they stuck with same level of technical proficiency that we’re stuck with at the CCNA level?

I guess the greatest piece of advise comes from Himawan Nugroho item 10, be skeptical. Nothing could be more true….

< /rant>

Ok, I’m out til I take my test, I’ll post back the results.

1 Comment »

  1. I feel you, man! I felt the same way when I was reading the book. I still liked that book a lot, though. But don’t let that get in the way of your learning. Use other materials to clear what doesn’t make sense and verify other concepts.

    The fact that you are finding these erratas show that you really are thinking about what you are reading and not just accepting anything you read. In a way, it’s a nice “gotcha” for you to keep you on your toes 😉

    Good luck on your test!

    Comment by Aragoen Celtdra — July 17, 2008 @ 2:46 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

