::cisco black belt::

July 22, 2008

So much to do…

Filed under: CCNP, misc — Tags: — ccxx4488 @ 11:28 pm

…so little time.

Its gonna be a busy month, lets see, umm yea, the to-do list:

  • Pack up and move out my apartment.
  • Ship my Cisco gear stateside
  • Visit the UK
  • Spam my resume, land a job
  • Find cheap flights
  • Sell my car
  • Tie up loose ends
  • And a ton of misc filler stuff

And hopefully find time in between, to add to this blog =)

On another note, I’m really looking forward to starting on the CCNP, my time seems kinda empty now that I’m not studying, but a little break is ok.

I’m gonna have my study strategy mapped out before I get started on the CCNP, time management, predefined goals, etc (refine my studying techniques from the ICND1 and 2). Chris Bryant stated something thats pretty simple but solid advice, master one topic before moving on to the next. I believe if you truly master a given subject, when you don’t review it for awhile, and return later, its more of a refresher than a review. I think thats a vital key in studying, especially given how many details are involved. As I’ve experimented with different learning strategies, I’ve found that even if your not progressing at the speed you want, you’ll still progress faster overall by mastering one topic at a time, as opposed to several reviews of many topics at once. This simple one step at a time approach, may take you 4 months study per exam, or it may take you 8–really the speed at which you can successfully knock out an exam will be dictated by your own aptitude.

I guess what I’m saying is, although I believe committing to a test day is important, approaching study with the attitude of, this will take me 4 months or this will take me 6, is kinda missing the point, it will take as long as it takes to master the content for the exam, end of story. So at this point, I’m not really going to put a time table on when I expect to complete my CCNP, I’d love to get it in 2 years, but if not, oh well.

(config-ccnp)#variance 2

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

